Artist Mark Parmelee, Alexandria Waterfront

Artist Mark Parmelee, Alexandria Waterfront
Artist Mark Parmelee, Alexandria Waterfront. Nikon D810, 50mm f/2 K, ISO 64, f/4, 1/1600 sec.

The Old Town Waterfront attracts musicians, artists, and street performers of all types. That’s part of the reason why I keep going there with my camera—you never know what you’re going to get.

As a street photographer, there are times you want to remain innocuous, even invisible. When it comes to artists and performers, I often feel that is the wrong approach. If the tables were turned, I know I’d feel uncomfortable working on my craft if I could feel the presence of a photographer lurking around me. So, as is the case with a lot of my photographs of performers, I introduced myself and asked if he wouldn’t mind me taking a few pictures. Unless the person says no (which is rare), it allows me to feel comfortable to shoot many different angles and moments. It also sets the artist at ease knowing that I’m not a total creeper!

Finally, for me, it’s about creating a connection. You never know where these connections may lead, if only to a pleasant exchange between artists.

Leave a Reply

